7 Replies - 1765 Views - Last Post: 20 September 2015 - 06:35 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Any Computer Engineers willing to answer a few questions?

Posted 10 September 2015 - 11:21 AM

Hi, my name is Zachary Miller. I am a college student in an introductory engineering class. We have an assignment to reach out to someone in the field we want to go into, and ask them a few questions of our choosing.
So here are my questions, if anyone in the field would be kind enough to answer them:
1) What should a Software Engineer coming out of college be doing to enter the workforce?
2) How stable is the job you're in right now, and how long do you think you'll be working for the same company?
Thank you for your time!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Any Computer Engineers willing to answer a few questions?

• Home Owner
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Any Computer Engineers willing to answer a few questions?

Posted 10 September 2015 - 11:27 AM

1. Practice. Make Connections (LinkedIn, go to social gatherings, etc...). Build a portfolio.
2. Very stable. I'll be working for them until a better opportunity comes along, not necessarily monetary opportunity. It could be monetary, it could be growth opportunities, it could be personal.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• Enterprise Software Architect
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 10 September 2015 - 02:21 PM

Be able to think a problem through. Don't come in with the attitude of, you know everything and they are doing it all wrong. Production level code is different than a collegiate development assignment. You should always be learning.

For now, I'm happy where I am. I will probably be here a long while.

This post has been edited by astonecipher: 10 September 2015 - 02:22 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• Beginner
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 10 September 2015 - 05:51 PM