9 Replies - 4148 Views - Last Post: 13 September 2015 - 02:10 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Need help starting with C# and IEC60870-5-104

Posted 12 September 2015 - 03:06 PM

Hi,

I've been assigned the task of writing a client program that takes some data and transmits it via ethernet using the protocol IEC 60870-5-104. I've been told to use C# and .net to do this. The problem is that my background is in electronics, not computer networks, so while I am familiar with the general concepts involved I'm not very clear on the details. I'm hoping someone here could indicate where I should begin or clarify exactly what the task is.

The issues that I'm struggling with, in no particular order and intermingling to some extent:

According to the pdf I was handed, IEC 60870-5-104 is an "application protocol", which is distinct from TCP? Does one replace the other, or does IEC 60870-5-104 exist 'inside' TCP?

I've had a look at the C# language (which I wasn't familiar with before) and found the 'Socket' command. This, so far as I can tell (please correct me if I'm wrong) includes one parameter "ProtocolType.TCP" and the command "Connect". Would this take care of the handshaking/connection establishing part, or would I have to code for that myself?

What information should I be looking for in the pdf that describes IEC 60870-5-104? The description seems very thorough and unambiguous, which is good in general but makes it difficult for someone without much of the relevant education to pick out what I need to know over what I can safely ignore.

Am I even vaguely on the right track? I've been trying to find the answers to these questions online, but my google-fu seems to have failed me in this case. Either that or what I'm trying to find is so monumentally wrong that nobody else has ever tried to find out.

I'll be very grateful for any help that could be provided.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +