3 Replies - 403 Views - Last Post: 30 September 2015 - 01:58 PM Rate Topic: -----

#1 Zibele   User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: 18-September 15

When setting up an Application in Codeblocks

Posted 30 September 2015 - 05:56 AM

When setting up an application in codeblocks such as SDL or Opencv,what is considered better practice to set it up in global compiler settings or to set it up on a project then use it as a template for other projects that use the application?Could you please state with reasons why one is better than the other.

This post has been edited by Zibele: 30 September 2015 - 05:56 AM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: When setting up an Application in Codeblocks

#2 Skydiver   User is offline

  • Code herder
  • member icon

Reputation: 6330
  • View blog
  • Posts: 21,734
  • Joined: 05-May 12

Re: When setting up an Application in Codeblocks

Posted 30 September 2015 - 06:31 AM

Perhaps you meant "library" or "framework" rather than "application"?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 Zibele   User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: 18-September 15

Re: When setting up an Application in Codeblocks

Posted 30 September 2015 - 01:48 PM

Yes sorry,the library.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 jimblumberg   User is online

  • member icon

Reputation: 5537
  • View blog
  • Posts: 17,143
  • Joined: 25-December 09

Re: When setting up an Application in Codeblocks

Posted 30 September 2015 - 01:58 PM

Quote

When setting up an application in codeblocks such as SDL or Opencv,what is considered better practice to set it up in global compiler settings or to set it up on a project then use it as a template for other projects that use the application?

This is an individual preference item. If you're always going to use these libraries and compiler settings then setting it up in the global compiler settings may be the way to go. But if you're only going to use these libraries on particular projects then setting them up in the project settings would probably be better.

I myself tend to use only the default global settings and setup each project individually instead of modifying the global settings. In other words if some project needs a library or different include paths I set these up in the project settings.

Jim
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1