5 Replies - 800 Views - Last Post: 18 October 2015 - 07:22 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Network Engineer wants to become Dev

Posted 18 October 2015 - 01:26 PM

Hi everyone,

I'm trying to figure out the best way to make the switch from Network Engineer to Developer. I do have a CS degree. I did help desk work in college and for 2 years after college until I eventually ended up as a Network Engineer. I have been a network engineer for 3 years already now. I love the work, but am starting to wonder if the grass is greener on the other side. :-) I feel like I have a decent foundation for software engineering due to my degree, but regret never getting the chance to do it professionally.

What is the best way to go about this? I have been hearing a lot about these code boot camps that guarantee jobs after graduating. When I first heard of these I thought they were a scam, but I have a high school friend who came out of one of these programs and did get a decent Dev position. Would these type of programs be a viable option to build up a portfolio and take advantage of their job placement programs? Should I just self-study and build a portfolio on my own?

Open to all advice. Particularly interested in other IT professionals who made the jump from an admin to Dev.

Thank you!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Network Engineer wants to become Dev

• Senior Systems Engineer
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Network Engineer wants to become Dev

Posted 18 October 2015 - 02:05 PM

that guarantee jobs after graduating.

No such thing.

The code camps may be good, but they will crash course the basics. The same can be found in almost any book. You are already secure in an IT position, I assume. So, time isn't a major factor for you. It's more, pick a direction. You probably have a leg up, because you are already known. What about transferring to the dev section of your current company?
Was This Post Helpful? 2
  • +
  • -

• Xamarin Cert. Dev.