9 Replies - 1096 Views - Last Post: 02 November 2015 - 06:11 PM

#1 RamonRobben   User is offline

  • D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

Reputation: 90
  • View blog
  • Posts: 594
  • Joined: 19-May 14

Domain name DNS lookup failed?

Posted 31 October 2015 - 04:25 PM

So I registered a free domain at freenom.com and im trying to link it to my webserver.
And it turned out i needed some DNS-servers. So i registered at namecheap.com who offers dns-servers.
So I needed to change my dns servers so they could verify that I am the owner of the site.

Posted Image

So now they have verified me and but when i go to my domain it still doesnt work DNS lookup failed.
But after some searching i found a Advanced DNS button wich led me to this page. And i have no idea what i need to do.

Posted Image

I tought of this as I register the domain get the dns servers/name servers and point them to my ip and done.
And now im kinda lost in this complicated stuff. How do i get it working?


p.s dont mind the password i already refreshed it.

This post has been edited by RamonRobben: 31 October 2015 - 04:26 PM


Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Domain name DNS lookup failed?

#2 astonecipher   User is offline

  • Senior Systems Engineer
  • member icon

Reputation: 2732
  • View blog
  • Posts: 10,899
  • Joined: 03-December 12

Re: Domain name DNS lookup failed?

Posted 31 October 2015 - 07:24 PM

Do you have any A records that are pointing to the IP?

Here is an example of one of the sites I host.
Attached Image
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 RamonRobben   User is offline

  • D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

Reputation: 90
  • View blog
  • Posts: 594
  • Joined: 19-May 14

Re: Domain name DNS lookup failed?

Posted 01 November 2015 - 05:11 AM

Well i tought the DNS would need to know my ip so i linked the DNS to my ip and not the web address..
Before i went to bed I added a host record. Wich did the job for me :) it now works.

Posted Image

This post has been edited by RamonRobben: 01 November 2015 - 05:18 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 RamonRobben   User is offline

  • D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

Reputation: 90
  • View blog
  • Posts: 594
  • Joined: 19-May 14

Re: Domain name DNS lookup failed?

Posted 01 November 2015 - 08:48 AM

Okay so i guess there is some weird stuff going on.
So I tested my website domain with http://tools.pingdom.com/ and it returned webpage is not available.

Also i cannot put in a website name at the name i dont know why but it just doesnt let me do that.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 astonecipher   User is offline

  • Senior Systems Engineer
  • member icon

Reputation: 2732
  • View blog
  • Posts: 10,899
  • Joined: 03-December 12

Re: Domain name DNS lookup failed?

Posted 01 November 2015 - 09:22 AM

Do you have a period at the end of it? I'm still on the dns records, so if you've have moved on ignore that.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 RamonRobben   User is offline

  • D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

Reputation: 90
  • View blog
  • Posts: 594
  • Joined: 19-May 14

Re: Domain name DNS lookup failed?

Posted 01 November 2015 - 10:41 AM

Yup even with the dot at the end it will become blank. Also it takes 30 minutes for nameservers to change and it take 24 hours before the changes have been processed.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 astonecipher   User is offline

  • Senior Systems Engineer
  • member icon

Reputation: 2732
  • View blog
  • Posts: 10,899
  • Joined: 03-December 12

Re: Domain name DNS lookup failed?

Posted 01 November 2015 - 11:12 AM

Can you modify the time to live? It takes about 24 hours for full propagation, but some servers update a lot faster.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 RamonRobben   User is offline

  • D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

Reputation: 90
  • View blog
  • Posts: 594
  • Joined: 19-May 14

Re: Domain name DNS lookup failed?

Posted 01 November 2015 - 11:12 AM

Contacted support. They told me that if i want to put my whole domain there i need to leave it blank :/
sometimes i just dont understand why you would do it like that.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#9 RamonRobben   User is offline

  • D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

Reputation: 90
  • View blog
  • Posts: 594
  • Joined: 19-May 14

Re: Domain name DNS lookup failed?

Posted 01 November 2015 - 11:44 AM

So now I tested my domain and its working all fine.
But how do i redirect www. and http://www. to my domain because when i have mydomain.nl it works but with the www.mydomain.nl it doesn't.
Also for outgoing emails need to get something i guess
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#10 no2pencil   User is offline

  • Professor Snuggly Pants
  • member icon

Reputation: 6727
  • View blog
  • Posts: 31,155
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: Domain name DNS lookup failed?

Posted 02 November 2015 - 06:11 PM

You would make the www a cname entry to point ot the A record. Then you have to configure your web server to answer both the domain name & the www subdomian. You can then (if you wish) use .htaccess (through Apache) to forward www to non-www requests.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1