1 Replies - 548 Views - Last Post: 14 November 2015 - 11:41 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Trying to solve egg problem

Posted 14 November 2015 - 08:26 PM

Hello, I'm a beginner at programming and I'm trying to solve this problem.

This is what I have gotten so far:

import static java.lang.System.*;
import java.util.*;
import java.io.*;

public class Eggs
{
   public static void main(String[] args) throws Exception
{ 

Scanner file;
 file = new Scanner(new File("Eggs.txt"));
   {
   int count = file.nextInt();
   for (int i = 0; i < count; i++)  
  {     
   int num = file.nextInt(); 
   out.println(num/2 + 1/2); 
  }

}

}
}

And this is the actual problem:

Problem B: The Egg Seller
Input file: Eggs.txt

Output: System.out
Time Limit: 3 seconds
A puzzle from medieval times goes like this. A farmer stands in the market square selling chickens eggs from his basket. One day a curious thing happens. A series of customers buy eggs from him, leaving his basket empty (that's not the curious part.)Each of these customers bought a number of eggs equal to half of the eggs in the basket at that time, plus half an egg. Without rounding, each customer bought a whole number of eggs.If there were N customers, how many eggs did the farmer begin with? Write a program to solve this puzzle.
Input:A single integer, M, on a line by itself gives the number of test cases to follow. Then M lines follow, each containing a single integer N, (N <20), giving the number of customers in this test case.
Output:For each test case, output a single line giving the initial number of eggs in the farmers basket.
Sample Input:1 2
Sample Output:3

My output comes out as:

I know this is a simple problem to solve but I just can't figure out if I have to make/define any new variables. I've been trying to solve this for too much time and I haven't made any progress. I just need someone to guide me or any hints. Thanks.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +