network with a network?

• (2 Pages)
  • +

17 Replies - 2149 Views - Last Post: 09 January 2016 - 07:07 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

network with a network?

Posted 02 December 2015 - 12:47 PM

Ok keep in mind I know little about servers and "back end". Long story short I have a rather large project of work procedures, its about 50 html pages now and will be well over 200+ when its done. All pretty neat , I have all common files loaded dynamically with Jquery at page load. Thing is I'm a mechanic, I just got into web dev as a hobby. This was practice for me. Well it grew and now everyone wants to have content, I also host blogs on there for engineering. The problem? Our IT department. In short, they hate me. My code is constantly being messed with, I originally had it on their main servers but since I'm not part of IT, they simply uploaded my code then hacked it a bit so nothing worked, of course I'm not "authorized" to go fix it. Why you ask? They have their own Sharepoint environment. I even set my stuff up to integrate easily into Sharepoint, but they would rather make me look bad. Plus they "borrowed" all my frameworks and will be building their own stuff in the future. So here we are, even the owners of the company are wondering where my project is. I'm stuck between an IT department that won't help and alot of "customers" who are demanding their content. I told my boss maybe we can host offsite to "work around" IT, but then again they could just block that IP address if they found out. So we will be getting our own server up within the next few months, more stuff I gotta learn. In the meantime is there any way I can "host" my project, either from a spare PC or my laptop, so that anyone at my plant here can see it? Since we are all on the company network controlled by our home office IT I don't know if its possible. And before you ask , "why is no one there doing anything about this"? Have you ever talked front end development and servers to lay people?