9 Replies - 985 Views - Last Post: 07 December 2015 - 11:57 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

I want to create an alternative to f.lux what should i know ?

Posted 06 December 2015 - 10:13 AM

Hello,

I am a game developer who's been working with unity for the past 3 years and has intermediate Java background another other web dev "skills" from college (studied for a degree in embedded system and hardware programming)

Anyway,
Lately i found myself in need for a software that will allow me to control my desktop screen brightness but to make it more simple, i don't want something that will access the hardware brightness settings of the screen, i just need something that do what f.lux does, but instead of applying a transparent orange layer over the entire screen, i want to apply a transparent black (or dark blue) layer over the entire screen and be able to control its transparency to "simulate" a brightness control setting.

I think these are the most important things that i need :

• determine the screen resolution and create a borderless window to fill the screen
  • fill that window with the desired color
  • keep that window on top of everything
  • prevent that window from getting any focus so i can still select anything i want
  • a UI control window to enable/disable the brightness tool and change its settings

So do you think this is simple enough to be done for someone who never used Visual Studio or C# outside of Unity ? like i said, i am not a beginner programmer but i am a total noob when it comes to making Windows specific application.

What do you suggest please ?

Thank you and have a good day

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: I want to create an alternative to f.lux what should i know ?

#2 modi123_1   User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: I want to create an alternative to f.lux what should i know ?

Posted 06 December 2015 - 11:09 AM