6 Replies - 2370 Views - Last Post: 17 December 2015 - 07:43 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

run as service an vb6 exe project with windows forms

Posted 15 December 2015 - 03:37 AM

Hi to All,

I'm an old developer with the partial job of maintain a lot of vb6 vbp projects and convert some of them to vs2015, I know both IDE and several others IDE and languages, fluent also en javascript, html, css and so on.

The boss are wanting to "convert" some vb6 exe projects to "running as service" in Windows Server 2012.
Also the company wants no msgbox or similar but using the "monitor messages" in win server 2012.

The exe works well today in these environment, and I don't know/understand the need ro run as service.

The project runs continually without user intervention, but shows a main form "form1" (that can run minimized even hide) with menu and buttons for some actions that are not neccesary daily, even the exe can run weeks without user intervention.
The project also execute other related .exe also with some info forms, also showing some msgbox in the event of some error and so on.

Thus, a "normal" win form vb6 only suited to run alone "server type" with not database or odbc, mainly some webservices, sockets access and print reports.

The question is

¿Can an vbp with forms .exe run as service? even "shelling/calling" to other related .exe.
¿Is there some product/dll that can be purchased to "encapsulate" the exe in a service program?
¿Can the msgbox and other similar forms for alerts/errors be changed to use "monitor messages" or so?

I've used the search but not sure to found some similar, and sorry my english is very poor.

All the best.
poor warrior in Spain.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: run as service an vb6 exe project with windows forms

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: run as service an vb6 exe project with windows forms

Posted 16 December 2015 - 08:30 AM