7 Replies - 886 Views - Last Post: 29 December 2015 - 05:59 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

How to create a simple Drag&Drop Game Engine for kids.

Posted 28 December 2015 - 05:53 AM

I was thinking for a while of creating a game engine for kids, with specific behaviors and limited options, I'm not a professional programmer, but I did write some apps and games for IOS. I don't really have any idea how to begin, I know it's a difficult and long process, and there are engines out there that already aimed towards kids(Scratch), but not really what I have in mind, what I want is to create something that is visually very intuitive and appealing, the engine itself will be more like mini challenges for the kids with limited behaviours so they are encouraged to start a project and finish it in 1 hour time, no coding blocks, just set behaviours and the user tweak their values, for example you drag an asset and make it an enemy, you then have basic behaviour named "Enemy" and then you tweak the speed, respawn times, etc. First of all what the tools I will be needing and what is the approach? (aiming for Mac, so should I just use Xcode?!) how to get that engine to export to IOS, Android or HTML, should I base it on an already existing engine like Box2d? Again I know this could be a tough, long process but I'm willing to put the effort because I think it's a different idea and will even improve me as a programmer, any help will be much appreciated. Thank you.

PS: I really did not know where to ask this question, but because it's relevant to games I thought here would be best, Also I'm not asking for people to do the work for me, just point me at the right direction, any extra tips would be much appreciated, but I apologize anyway if I'm breaking any rules.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: How to create a simple Drag&Drop Game Engine for kids.

#2 modi123_1   User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog