10 Replies - 1212 Views - Last Post: 02 February 2016 - 04:03 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

How do i start software development?

Posted 02 February 2016 - 10:49 AM

I've got some experience In c++. But a placement that I've applied for says that experience in software development is preferable. I have no idea where to start. Can you use codeblocks?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: How do i start software development?

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: How do i start software development?

Posted 02 February 2016 - 10:53 AM

At its basics look at the words. Can you develop software. That is to say given a project idea can you logically break down, design, and implement that design. Take an idea, architect a solution, and then code it. It is larger than just using a given IDE or language. Typically classes do this in small bits for homework, larger in more generalized classes, and what not.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• Code herder
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 02 February 2016 - 10:58 AM

Usually when HR says "experience in software development" it means one of two things:
  • HR is asking for experience in the full software development life cycle (SDLC).
  • HR doesn't know what it is asking for, and their developers/managers don't have time to explain. :)

Was This Post Helpful? 2
  • +
  • -

• Beginner
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 02 February 2016 - 11:53 AM

What do you mean when you say you have "some experience with C++"? This is often a sticky point: to the applicant, it can mean "I've written some stuff in C++". To the employer, it usually means something more like "you've deployed C++ code that other people have used". The former can be okay, but it's important to start out talking about the same thing.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Senior Systems Engineer
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 02 February 2016 - 12:11 PM