6 Replies - 948 Views - Last Post: 19 February 2016 - 08:59 AM

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Learning Java EE on Debian 8 - suggestions?

Posted 15 February 2016 - 07:25 AM

I've been thinking of learning Java EE / back end programming, and I wonder what should I install to get an useful platform for learning? It should support programming from total beginner level to "feasible programmer"-level. I'm not aiming to be a good programmer yet.

I was thinking of using tomcat8, but there are a load of different packages for Debian 8. Which should I install?
Tomcat8-user? What else?
Which database would you recommend? Lightish and easy to use when/if I advance to that.

The environment should be lightish, because on the same machine, there are other development environments too, and the old machine has not enough bang to keep them all up at the same time.

I could also use some material for learning the basic Java from elementary level to medium level. I've looked at quite some resources, but it seems that in most of them, instead of Java, they teach (mostly) graphics libraries.

[EDIT]
Spending some more time with my friend Google got me to realize that I may be setting too many restrictions.
I guess I'd be lucky to come up with some J2EE server that supports the most used features, is free, and fits in my computer (Lenovo T400 / Debian 8.3) somehow. Asking for all features, easiness of use or lightness probably makes the equation unsolvable.

So maybe not Tomcat? JBoss perhaps?

This post has been edited by turboscrew: 15 February 2016 - 11:01 AM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Learning Java EE on Debian 8 - suggestions?

• I think you'll find it's "Dr"
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Learning Java EE on Debian 8 - suggestions?

Posted 16 February 2016 - 10:42 PM

I can't comment too much, as this really isn't my area of expertise, but a couple of things: