11 Replies - 557 Views - Last Post: 17 February 2016 - 09:13 AM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Addict

• View blog

Is caching the correct class to use for storing data received?

Posted 16 February 2016 - 02:35 PM

I am trying to find the best way to store data received from a socket server I created. I then also need to wait for a client to open the connection to the server and request the data (which will be objects consisting of trade information). After the data is requested the server then forwards a copy to the client in a CSV format.

So I believe I know how to do all of the above but not sure how to cache the data, or if it is wise to use it because of its volatility. I have never used the cache class before and before I dig into it I was curious if I am going in the right direction (in using the cache class)?

If this is not the right direction then please kindly suggest an alternative.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Is caching the correct class to use for storing data received?

• (╯□)╯︵ (~ .o.)~
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Is caching the correct class to use for storing data received?

Posted 16 February 2016 - 02:53 PM

It completely 100% depends on what type of application you're writing, and specifically what "Cache class" you're referring to.

The only one I've seen in the .NET framework that's actually named "Cache" is in the System.Web.Caching namespace. The "Web" part suggests that it's not what you want to use.

But before we even get to "which cache", let's first figure out if you actually need some kind of caching mechanism.

There's a few reasons to cache data:

• Your application might be closed and re-opened, and you don't want to re-download/re-calculate/re-whatever the information
  • You can't fit your entire data set into memory, so some must be stored in an on-disk cache.

I'm guessing you're not worried about either here.

So, do you really need a cache? Is storing the values in-memory not good enough?