12 Replies - 2015 Views - Last Post: 14 June 2016 - 03:44 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Where to start in game programming?

Posted 12 May 2016 - 02:40 PM

Hello everyone. I completed a course in C ++ programming but I want to apply this knowledge into something real. So I decided that I will develop some games. But where to start? I am studying SFML and quite liked it. But what I wanted to know it is the logic behind a game. Should I create an engine? a map editor? before creating the game. I decide to make an RPG but where to start?

I'm not Native American, so excuse my grammatical errors and semantic :rolleyes:

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Where to start in game programming?

#2 modi123_1   User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Where to start in game programming?

Posted 12 May 2016 - 02:47 PM

No.. I would advocate _not_ making an engine.

Grab an existing engine - Unity, Cry, etc . Have a plan on a proof of concept game. See how the bits work together. Up tick the difficulty of and complexity of the actions and see what end to end development would look like.
Was This Post Helpful? 2
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 12 May 2016 - 02:57 PM

View Postmodi123_1, on 12 May 2016 - 02:47 PM, said:

No.. I would advocate _not_ making an engine.

Grab an existing engine - Unity, Cry, etc . Have a plan on a proof of concept game. See how the bits work together. Up tick the difficulty of and complexity of the actions and see what end to end development would look like.

But all the big games are not made with their own engines?

I'm looking for knowledge, not exactly a game that will sell
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 macosxnerd101   User is online

• Games, Graphs, and Auctions
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 12 May 2016 - 03:08 PM