Can I still get a job in software with an expunged record?

• (2 Pages)
  • +

19 Replies - 3021 Views - Last Post: 12 July 2016 - 08:58 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Can I still get a job in software with an expunged record?

Posted 12 May 2016 - 07:07 PM

I'm new to this forum so I'm still learning the ropes here, but anyways. I'm a 20 year old college student studying computer science and someday want to become a software engineer. Awhile ago I was arrested, but I never served jail time for it and its a misdemeanor. The record can eventually get expunged meaning it can "wiped" off since this is my one and only offense. I was wondering is it possible for me to work in software with an expunged misdemeanor record?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Can I still get a job in software with an expunged record?

• Professor Snuggly Pants
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Can I still get a job in software with an expunged record?

Posted 12 May 2016 - 07:11 PM

Not sure what your expecting to hear... but just like the "no experience" or "no college" questions, while it maybe possible it's going to be incredibly difficult. For the negative mark against you, you'll have to be that much better than your competition for the position. Ideally the company wants to make money & hire the best talent. The more sensitive the data, the more unlikely they will be willing to take a risk.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 12 May 2016 - 07:13 PM

View Postno2pencil, on 12 May 2016 - 07:11 PM, said:

Not sure what your expecting to hear... but just like the "no experience" or "no college" questions, while it maybe possible it's going to be incredibly difficult.

Well since you put it that way does that mean I should just give out and drop out of college?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Professor Snuggly Pants
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 12 May 2016 - 07:14 PM