Do I need webhosting, forums, or both?

• (2 Pages)
  • +

29 Replies - 3030 Views - Last Post: 14 June 2016 - 09:47 PM

• D.I.C Addict

• View blog

Do I need webhosting, forums, or both?

Posted 11 June 2016 - 10:55 PM

I need some advice but I am not entirely sure what all to include. Yet I know I post walls-of-texts, so I want to refrain from putting up unnecessary info. I am completely lost on what I am looking for after reading back several pages on here. I am a complete noob about this stuff, and it has been difficult to pinpoint what to look into for what I need.

• I want a place that I can use to host some files. Maybe a couple hundred mb, but I'll say a gig to be sure.
  • I am uncertain of the amount of traffic or bandwidth, but it will likely be relatively low (I have nothing to compare it to).
  • I want to have a few forums, something small so I can list projects, and list the details of those projects there, and Q/A about the projects. Forum threads can double as dev blogs.
  • I would like for it to have a domain name and an email address.
  • I would like for it to have a regular webpage front that I can customize.
  • I have a small client/server game project that I am working on extending, and would like to use the same service for it.
  • Scaleable - If I need more space, bandwidth, pages, or emails later down the road.
  • I have money, but want the most logical choice for something relatively small that I will be tinkering with trying to learn as I go. Arms and legs should stay attached.

From what I have read so far I want to stay away from the big name hosting places. I see a lot of mention about DigitalOcean.com, but no mention of forums that I have come across. Not entirely sure if this is something I can add to it if I purchase a monthly plan.