5 Replies - 826 Views - Last Post: 08 July 2016 - 07:34 AM

#1 TatsuSheva   User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 70
  • Joined: 30-June 16

How Is It Possible To Block Websites ?

Posted 08 July 2016 - 03:52 AM

Hello,
I am in intership and my employer wants to block websites in all the machines.
He wants me to create an application with c# which will allow to block websites.
He wants me to use the Registry Editor (regedit.exe).
Is it possible ?

I have tried by modifying the hosts file and it works.It works very good but he told me that it is so simple and the employees will know how to fix it.
Thank you.
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: How Is It Possible To Block Websites ?

#2 DarenR   User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover

Reputation: 593
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,823
  • Joined: 12-January 10

Re: How Is It Possible To Block Websites ?

Posted 08 July 2016 - 04:03 AM

usually that stuff is done on the network side of things where you can set the security of the entire network
Was This Post Helpful? 2
  • +
  • -

#3 Skydiver   User is offline

  • Code herder
  • member icon

Reputation: 6216
  • View blog
  • Posts: 21,454
  • Joined: 05-May 12

Re: How Is It Possible To Block Websites ?

Posted 08 July 2016 - 04:12 AM

And how is this a C# question? This sounds more like a do the thinking for me and design my program for me.

Moving to corner cubicle...

Anyway, you can block at the router level by changing the allowed sites. Most commercial level and modern home level routers support this. That way you don't have to worry about Windows vs. Linux vs. Android vs. iOS etc.

Alternatively, if you only care about Windows, consider taking away admin rights from users and go with your host file idea. Or assuming you are using Active Directory, push out group policies.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 TatsuSheva   User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 70
  • Joined: 30-June 16

Re: How Is It Possible To Block Websites ?

Posted 08 July 2016 - 04:24 AM

Okay I see I found something interesting while googling
Hope it will help you also one day:
https://msdn.microso...y/h5e7chcf.aspx
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 astonecipher   User is offline

  • Senior Systems Engineer
  • member icon

Reputation: 2540
  • View blog
  • Posts: 10,175
  • Joined: 03-December 12

Re: How Is It Possible To Block Websites ?

Posted 08 July 2016 - 06:13 AM

That is done thru the network, not a registry key. And if you do screw with the registry, make sure you know what you are doing as it will kill the entire system if you mess up.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 baavgai   User is online

  • Dreaming Coder
  • member icon


Reputation: 7181
  • View blog
  • Posts: 14,969
  • Joined: 16-October 07

Re: How Is It Possible To Block Websites ?

Posted 08 July 2016 - 07:34 AM

I suppose, if you have full control of the machine, you can lock the browser down to go through a proxy. While a proxy usually sits on the network, it could be a local service.

On a windows box with IE, you can use group policies to put sites into the restricted zone. In a sense, this is what ad blockers do, so a hacked ad blocker with a company blacklist would do the trick.

All of this depends of the level of control you have on the box. You can lock down the corporate browser, but if the users can install software, they'll just put on a different browser and use that.

... "regedit.exe"

The IE zones thing: that's in the registry. You can identify the entry and use a *.reg file for distribution.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1