14 Replies - 1763 Views - Last Post: 08 August 2016 - 08:03 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Will be working in US, need career advice

Posted 03 August 2016 - 07:25 AM

Disclaimer:#I have made attempts at finding a more suitable sub but couldn't. This is not a programming/coding question, but a thread about career paths.

Disclaimer #2: Lengthy post (800 words), so Iíd really appreciate your help as a Good Samaritan. Thank you.

I have 3 distinct career options ahead of me and I'm seeking both seasoned opinions from veteran programmers and earnest thoughts from kindhearted fellow dreamers.

Before bringing my options on the table, allow me to provide a little background about myself and to voice my concerns which subsequently explains at least partially why I need advice.

I'll likely be migrating to the US in the next 5 years thanks to a family member. I'm from a country of which name I'm rather reluctant to disclose, I have a college degree and AFAIK, it is recognized in the US. I was an EE major and I have 4 years of experience working on mostly IOT projects, which means I have been dealing with microcontrollers and circuit-board designs the whole time. All projects were done in C, although I know how to code in C++ and Java.