4 Replies - 1351 Views - Last Post: 15 November 2017 - 07:17 PM

#1 Adz1990   User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 14
  • Joined: 02-June 16

Have two domains but only want one.

Posted 10 October 2016 - 07:25 AM

Ok So I am completely new to web hosting.

I have a domain registered with cpanel and another one with wordpress. I want the site on wordpress to be the one viewed when you type in the domain name for my Cpanel.

Any help will be appreciated.

Thank you.
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Have two domains but only want one.

#2 Adz1990   User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 14
  • Joined: 02-June 16

Re: Have two domains but only want one.

Posted 10 October 2016 - 07:34 AM

Ok so I think i got it worked out. On the wordpress script page on your CPanel, you just change your link details to the wordpress one. Is That correct?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 astonecipher   User is offline

  • Senior Systems Engineer
  • member icon

Reputation: 2791
  • View blog
  • Posts: 11,005
  • Joined: 03-December 12

Re: Have two domains but only want one.

Posted 10 October 2016 - 09:15 AM

You are a bit confused. CPanel is just software the makes managing your server easier, it isn't a domain registrar. Likewise, wordpress, unless you are referring to WordPress.com, is not a registrar.

Now, the CPanel domain is literally the IP that it sits on with the port number. If you want to direct your domain to a wordpress install, you need to change your DNS settings to send the request to the server that the install is hosted on, server.myserver.com, or even an IP Address.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 no2pencil   User is offline

  • Professor Snuggly Pants
  • member icon

Reputation: 6747
  • View blog
  • Posts: 31,227
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: Have two domains but only want one.

Posted 10 October 2016 - 12:13 PM

Under your vhost, issue a 301 URL rewrite to host both sites on one domain.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 bhawani007   User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 15-November 17

Re: Have two domains but only want one.

Posted 15 November 2017 - 07:17 PM

well, you seems to be new in hosting. Domain name and hosting account both are different each other. cPanel is an control panel through which you can manage your hosting account like Files, Email accounts, sub-domains etc.
Now if you want to forward your domain to your WordPress account then you can do it by three ways.
1). You can directly forward your domain through domain registrar end by domain forwarding option.
2). You can forward it through **spam link removed**cPanelaccount also.
3). You can forward it through .**spam link removed** htaccessfile also.

Also, i will suggest URL masking for redirection for domain redirection.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1