2 Replies - 1115 Views - Last Post: 03 January 2017 - 08:11 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Need Career Help? Lost!

Posted 17 December 2016 - 02:24 AM

Hey guys,

I need some career advice. So let me introduce myself,

I'm a Computer Science graduate and have been working for an IT MNC for past 2+ years. Before getting into job, I did an Oracle Certification in Java Associate Programmer SE7 but I got job for a .Net Project, where I spent almost 15 months doing C#, ASP.Net, SQL, etc. After that I got into a Full Stack Programmer profile, as a MEAN (MongoDB, Express, Angular, NodeJS) developer and since then I have been working more on the front-end part. Now I'm looking for a job change, but most of the companies I go for interview offers me a front-end job, but I want to work as a back-end dev, more on Java/C#/SQL part. So my question is, did I waste my time in learning and working on MEAN stack, as because of that I have lost my understanding on Java, C# and SQL. Also, I want to get a job at big IT giants like Microsoft, Google, etc. So I have to focus more on data structures and algorithms part in order to get into them.

Need some suggestions, what am I doing with my life, where I am leading...

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Need Career Help? Lost!

• Professor Snuggly Pants
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Need Career Help? Lost!

Posted 17 December 2016 - 08:44 AM

** Moved to corner cubicle **
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: Need Career Help? Lost!

Posted 03 January 2017 - 08:11 AM

This will not tell you where your live is heading, but I can affirm you that developing MEAN was not a waste of your precious time.
Any new language and new technology you learn will help you become a better developer.
You gain experience in handling new situations, new languages, gain understandig of concepts, approaches and so on.