13 Replies - 1787 Views - Last Post: 19 January 2017 - 07:41 AM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

WPF Custom Control - New TextBox Property

Posted 18 January 2017 - 07:26 AM

Hi

I am very new to WPF (only started yesterday) however i have been working with WinForms for a while.

I am having difficulty working out how to create a custom control compared to WinForms. I want to create a custom TextBox where i add the Property "IsRequired" (Boolean), and a Trigger to set the TextBox Background Color to White OnEnter.

This is what i have tried so far (I haven't looked at adding the Trigger yet):

Add -> New Item -> Custom Control (WPF)

Imports System.Windows.Controls.Primitives

Public Class C_TextBox
    Inherits TextBox

Shared Sub New()
        DefaultStyleKeyProperty.OverrideMetadata(GetType(C_TextBox), New FrameworkPropertyMetadata(GetType(C_TextBox)))
        IsRequiredProperty = DependencyProperty.Register("IsRequired", GetType(Boolean), GetType(C_TextBox))
    End Sub

Shared IsRequiredProperty As DependencyProperty

Public Property IsRequired() As Boolean
        Get
            Return MyBase.GetValue(IsRequiredProperty)
        End Get
        Set(value As Boolean)
            MyBase.SetValue(IsRequiredProperty, value)
        End Set
    End Property

End Class

On the Form i want to display this TextBox...

xmlns:MyNamespace="clr-namespace:<name of project>"

<!--This shows as default when dragged from Toolbox-->
<MyNamespace:C_TextBox HorizontalAlignment="Left" Height="100" Margin="17,13,0,-110" Grid.Row="2" TextWrapping="Wrap" Text="C_TextBox" VerticalAlignment="Top" Width="100"/>

... But when i select this from the Toolbox nothing really happens...

I'm not sure if the above is correct or if i am selecting the correct item type, or then calling it correcting in XAML on the form i want to use

I have spent a long time looking through forums etc and i have just got myself more confused.