2 Replies - 368 Views - Last Post: 08 December 2017 - 09:36 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Find the next superscript and set the caret there

Posted 12 November 2017 - 05:45 PM

In a richtextbox, I need to find and select the next superscripted character past the current caret position, not to edit anything, just to highlight it for the user. Currently I'm individually checking each letter's formatting and stepping my way forward until I find the next one. That works but it's too slow.
I'd like to find the superscript quickly with a regex: "\\super" applied to rtb1.rtf, and then a binary search to find the one that comes next, but I think I'd need to convert the current caret position to rtf, apply the search and then convert the result back to plain text? Is that possible? I'm new at both working with richtextboxes and regex (and binary searches for that matter), so any hints would be appreciated.
I don't know that my current non-working code is worth posting, but in snippets it's something like this:
Private superlocator As New Regex("\\super")
Private nextsuper() As Int64

Dim matchsuper As MatchCollection = superlocator.Matches(RTB1.Rtf)
Dim nextsuper(matchsuper.Count)
For Each matched As Match In matchsuper
    i += 1
    nextsuper(i) = matched.Index
Next 

Dim position As Int64 = RTB1.Selectionstart + RTB1.SelectionLength
Dim foundsuper As Int64 = Array.BinarySearch(nextsuper, position)

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Find the next superscript and set the caret there

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: Find the next superscript and set the caret there

Posted 13 November 2017 - 06:16 AM

I figured out a solution, but it's a bit of a kludge.