5 Replies - 1250 Views - Last Post: 24 November 2017 - 11:19 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Java GUI Technologies for Desktop

Posted 24 November 2017 - 07:49 AM

Greetings:

I am not very experienced with GUI desktop programming. However, I have used Swing and have been reasonably satisfied with the experience. With that being said, I am a bit confused as to what is the "standard' or "go-to" technology of today. I understand JavaFX is newer and supposed to replace Swing. However, and this certainly be a mistake, based on my Internet searching, it does not really appear as if the technology ever really "took off". For example, it does not appear as if Oracle provides downloads for SceneBuilder any longer. I found a couple of relevant questions on Stack Overflow (here and here), but they are from a couple or so years ago and, to me, not conclusive. I found this clarity also lacking in a relevant Reddit question.

I love Java, but do not work at a place that really uses the technology. As such, I am a bit perplexed. What is the preferred approach for building graphical applications using Java today?

Thanks.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Java GUI Technologies for Desktop

#2 macosxnerd101   User is online

• Games, Graphs, and Auctions
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Java GUI Technologies for Desktop

Posted 24 November 2017 - 07:52 AM

The only industry that uses Java for desktop applications is the standardized testing industry (e.g., the GRE, state standardized tests for K-12, etc.). They still use Swing, to the best of my knowledge. If you are using Java professionally, then it is likely a server-side application (e.g., Java EE, or a Java SE app that runs on a server) or Android mobile development.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#3 andrewsw   User is online

• Stealth IT
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 24 November 2017 - 08:03 AM