5 Replies - 949 Views - Last Post: 02 January 2018 - 03:34 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Want to move from Systems Administration to Software Development

Posted 28 December 2017 - 07:59 PM

I work as a Systems Administrator and have been doing so since I graduated from college four years ago. I have a B.A. degree in Computer Systems, and my degree program was very similar to the Computer Science curriculum that they offered. In college, I did do a brief software development internship that involved building a prototype web application. That internship is the extent of my real-world experience with software development.

With that in mind, I am interested in advice or suggestions related to how to best go about making a transition to an entry-level software development job. I feel comfortable with my educational background, but I feel I am at a disadvantage due to lack of experience, particularly because I haven’t worked as part of a team on a large software project.

So far, I have created a Github profile and I am working to create some current samples of my work. I also intend to get involved in some open source projects in order to get some experience working on a project. I am looking to make the career transition sooner rather than later, but I don’t really know what to expect or what amount of ‘preparation’ would make me stand out to potential employers. Any input would be appreciated.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Want to move from Systems Administration to Software Development

• Xamarin Cert. Dev.
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Want to move from Systems Administration to Software Development

Posted 28 December 2017 - 08:31 PM

> With that in mind, I am interested in advice or suggestions related to how to best go about making a transition to an entry-level software development job
Learn to code.

> I feel comfortable with my educational background, but I feel I am at a disadvantage due to lack of experience,