2 Replies - 457 Views - Last Post: 31 January 2018 - 10:43 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

[Career Advice] Associate to Apprentice?

Posted 29 January 2018 - 08:18 PM

Hey, currently I am an App Developer that works on Android and iOS so java and swift. I have about 1 year of professional development experience on the job at an Entry/Associate level position. If you count internships it would be 2 years overall. I'm pretty fresh out of college. I haven't done web development in a long time. The company I am looking at is a Web Development Shop. Im fine with HTML5, CSS, and novice Javascript but I don't know any backed technologies to a professional level but I did have an internship with ASP.NET 2 years back. I also do not know any of the new front end frameworks as in React, Angular etc. I have a lot to learn in about a 4 - 6 month time span. 4 Months from now I either need to renew my lease or find a new place to live. The new company I am interested in is in another city nearby but I would have to move as the commute would be too long to work.

My dilemma I am not a web developer, I'm a mobile developer looking to get into web development by learning it on the side. Other dilemma, the company is looking for A Software Developer with >= 3 years of experience. I am positive I can fill that role but not without some on the job learning since I have no done web in awhile and I don't know really much of the technologies in their web stack. But from the job posting it sounds like they want someone already revved up and ready to be dropped in to the thick of things.