11 Replies - 378 Views - Last Post: 31 January 2018 - 11:54 PM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

'CompressionLevel' is ambiguous

Posted 30 January 2018 - 06:32 AM

Hi there

I am trying to compress files using the following code:

Imports System.IO
Imports System.IO.Compression
Module Module1
    Sub Main()
        Dim SourceDirName As String = "DirName"
        Dim DestinationArchiveName As String = "ArchiveName"
        ZipFile.CreateFromDirectory(SourceDirName, DestinationArchiveName, CompressionLevel.Optimal, False)
    End Sub
End Module

[SourceDirName and DestinationArchiveName are assigned those values just for this post, but I have the directory names and archive names assigned properly in my code.]

I just started coding it and there is already an error. For some reason, I keep getting this error: 'CompressionLevel' is ambiguous in the namespace 'System.IO.Compression'

Steps I have tried so far:
  • I have used the Imports System.IO and System.IO.Compression as shown above.
  • I've tried removing System.IO but it causes errors in my other code.
  • I've tried using Imports System.IO.Compression.FileSystem, but it does nothing. I do however, have System.IO.Compression.FileSystem in my list of references and in the assemblies folder. I've tried removing it to see if it's causing any conflicts, but it still throws an error and a new error by ZipFile arises.
  • I have researched this error, but can't find any help on this issue. One of the MS websites states the name must be fully qualified. So I tried using
    Compression.CompressionLevel.Optimal

but even that throws the same error.
    System.IO.Compression.CompressionLevel.Optimal

doesn't work either.

Can someone please help me pin point what the problem is? I've been sitting with this for 6 hours now and really need help.

This post has been edited by Slinky: 30 January 2018 - 06:35 AM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: 'CompressionLevel' is ambiguous

• Foo