4 Replies - 847 Views - Last Post: 13 March 2018 - 11:03 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Graduating w/online B.S.C.S but don't have enough ex. to become de

Posted 13 March 2018 - 06:01 PM

Help, I'm about to graduate!!

Hey guys,
I'm Jen and I still feel like a complete newbie at computer science. I'm 4 classes away from graduating and I have a 3.97 GPA. The problem is, I don't think my online education has taught me what I need to be successful in the real world. The only programming language I have experience with is Java and the only IDE I've used is Eclispe. I also come from a transportation background and I'm not a generally technically inclined person. My question is, how can someone like me be successful in becoming a software developer? I've been applying for Internships for a year now and no responses. I can see that they all generally want experience that I do not have. Does anyone have any advice for me? I'm really starting to regret getting my degree online.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Graduating w/online B.S.C.S but don't have enough ex. to become de

• Games, Graphs, and Auctions
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Graduating w/online B.S.C.S but don't have enough ex. to become de

Posted 13 March 2018 - 06:34 PM

Not to be rude, but I honestly thought you were in an Intro to Java class based on your code samples. It sounds like your degree program was less than ideal, in terms of quality. While a solid four year degree program is certainly beneficial, they arenít necessary to become a software engineer. However, it is necessary to be able to program successfully and to have mastered the material in a freshman data structures class. Along the way, you should have developed non-trivial projects and mastered the basics of OOP.