6 Replies - 856 Views - Last Post: 18 March 2018 - 05:29 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Older person wanting to get into programming games.

Posted 16 March 2018 - 04:48 AM

Hi, I would like to start programming games, but I don't really want to take a class because there are too many to choose from, and I don't know which ones will actually teach me what I want to know and help me start building games right away. I'm in my 30's, and I wish I would have taken another path in life, like IT. As it is, I majored in the humanities and have only been able to find work as a teacher. Writing is great, but I would like to develop more skills to go along with it.

Since I'm already in my 30's, I feel kind of a sense of urgency, because I feel like it will soon be too late for me to actually work in the tech field. I mean, they like to hire kids. The few online coding tutorials I've tried to follow were confusing to me. I would like to find a good set of project-based courses that assume no prior programming knowledge.

Would anyone be willing to make suggestions?

I apologize if this was posted in the wrong area.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Older person wanting to get into programming games.

#2 modi123_1   User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Older person wanting to get into programming games.

Posted 16 March 2018 - 05:08 AM

Grab a book on a language and start working through it. I would suggest c# since it is one of he languages used with Unity3d, a game engine.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 16 March 2018 - 05:08 AM

https://www.youtube....hD-hhDwSEDxogDg

great (free) tutorial for extreme beginners , learn python and you will have a good start !
:gun_bandana:
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 jon.kiparsky   User is online

• Beginner
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 16 March 2018 - 07:25 AM