3 Replies - 506 Views - Last Post: 04 June 2018 - 05:49 AM

#1 shin777   User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 78
  • Joined: 19-June 13

Can you crush database by trying to pull too many lines from database?

Posted 31 May 2018 - 03:19 PM

One of my co-worker keeps requesting he needs product data of we ever produced every year once a month. I mean, even if I am just using select statement to pull data from 4 different tables, it is already like 80k lines long over 20 columns long. It will be more and more as the time goes. Within this year, I will be pulling like 200k+ lines and who knows how big it will become.. he says he needs it for our stock check.

Can this crush the database eventually?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Can you crush database by trying to pull too many lines from database?

#2 astonecipher   User is offline

  • Senior Systems Engineer
  • member icon

Reputation: 2769
  • View blog
  • Posts: 10,963
  • Joined: 03-December 12

Re: Can you crush database by trying to pull too many lines from database?

Posted 31 May 2018 - 03:29 PM

Yes. He shouldn’t need everything. Reports are written for a time period or an aggregate.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 modi123_1   User is offline

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 14862
  • View blog
  • Posts: 59,301
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Can you crush database by trying to pull too many lines from database?

Posted 31 May 2018 - 03:54 PM

"crush the database eventually"? No, not really. It will just take progressively longer to pull the data.. and as astone mentioned - it seems weird to keep needing everything all the time.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 Dormilich   User is offline

  • 痛覚残留
  • member icon

Reputation: 4223
  • View blog
  • Posts: 13,380
  • Joined: 08-June 10

Re: Can you crush database by trying to pull too many lines from database?

Posted 04 June 2018 - 05:49 AM

Quote

Can this crush the database eventually?

The database - no. The web server before it - yes.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1