4 Replies - 758 Views - Last Post: 24 June 2018 - 12:12 PM

#1 000cba000   User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 05-January 10

client-side text-search

Posted 21 June 2018 - 10:52 AM

Hi
I am new to web dev and to javascript.
I got an account with a host that allows me to program my site in HTML/CSS/Javascript/jQuery.
I uploaded a one-meg UTF-8 free-form text file (data base) to that site.

I would like visitors to my said site to use a simple form that has text/booleans/regulas-expression.
The form should be applied against the one-meg UTF-8 free-form text file.

The result should be a frame/window that has
all the lines in that (data base)file (hits)
and no other lines from the (data base) file.

As an additional nicety
all the occurrences of said text/booleans/regulas-expression should be highlighted/colorized.

-
I don't have a clue how to solve that problem/filter!
Help

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: client-side text-search

#2 modi123_1   User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 14487
  • View blog
  • Posts: 58,065
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: client-side text-search

Posted 21 June 2018 - 11:15 AM

Why wouldn't the information, if it is a database, be stored in an actual database?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 ndc85430   User is offline

  • I think you'll find it's "Dr"
  • member icon

Reputation: 895
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,602
  • Joined: 13-June 14

Re: client-side text-search

Posted 21 June 2018 - 09:13 PM

Also, it should be obvious that the querying of this database needs to happen on the server, unless you're planning on transferring that data to the client and doing it there (but why would you?).
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 000cba000   User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 05-January 10

Re: client-side text-search

Posted 24 June 2018 - 12:00 PM

I AM
planning on transferring that data to the client and doing it there.
WHY ?

coz my host, neocities.org
does not allow anything else.

Again
my "database", If u wanna call it that,
is just one humble flat text file.
FREEFORM text file.
A bunch of lines of text. Like this.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 ndc85430   User is offline

  • I think you'll find it's "Dr"
  • member icon

Reputation: 895
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,602
  • Joined: 13-June 14

Re: client-side text-search

Posted 24 June 2018 - 12:12 PM

So you want clients to have access to all that data?

You could also consider hosting an app on some cloud provider (Heroku, AWS, etc.), as you're likely to get storage options there (you certainly do on Heroku).
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1