8 Replies - 645 Views - Last Post: 02 July 2018 - 03:29 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Probably a stupid question

Posted 02 July 2018 - 12:20 AM

But I have no background in anything programming related except some 8 year old kid html fascination from back in the late 90s. Anyways, I'm wondering if anyone here could point me in the right direction for information on programming a simple text report generator. As in, we're typing text reports that are structurally identical (template based) save for variables such as name, age, and test results. I know that it's got to be incredibly simple to put together a program where you input name, age and text results and program x information to write to y location within the underlying text template on a text document. But I have no idea what to search under to find some answers besides delving into and getting familiar with the whole language. If someone can point me in the right direction of what to search for, that would be rather appreciated.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Probably a stupid question

• 痛覚残留
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Probably a stupid question

Posted 02 July 2018 - 12:41 AM

The question is if it must be done through a programming language. Usually office software also provides means to do that (=> 'form letter' or similar). Even PDFs can be used for that (=> PDF form).
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 ndc85430   User is online

• I think you'll find it's "Dr"
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 02 July 2018 - 01:04 AM

Where is the data stored? If it's in some database or something, then it would make sense to write a program to access it and generate the reports.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 02 July 2018 - 01:16 AM

I don't know if there's an easier solution than actually learning a programming language. If you have time/are interested, you could start with Python, it's quite intuitive and easy to learn.