1 Replies - 1187 Views - Last Post: 08 July 2018 - 01:06 AM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

Particular books / courses

Post icon  Posted 07 July 2018 - 07:17 AM

Hi all,

I'm new to Java, I've been working with C# / .NET for a while.

I'm looking for material to learn Java, but preferably not all the basic "how to program" stuff but rather all that is Java-specific. For instance, all the configuration, Java beans, the DI libraries, Maven and preferably how JBOSS / deployment of web applications works.

I don't know how to put this concisely. I guess I'm looking for something that shows me the main differences between Java development and C# development. What's different between IIS and JBOSS, Nuget and Maven. Perhaps Gradle as well.

Do you have any suggestions?

This post has been edited by macosxnerd101: 07 July 2018 - 06:34 PM
Reason for edit:: Featured

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 1
  • +

Replies To: Particular books / courses

#2 ndc85430   User is online

• I think you'll find it's "Dr"
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Particular books / courses

Posted 08 July 2018 - 01:06 AM

I don't know about materials covering differences between Java web development and C# web development, specifically, but is that really necessary? By working in some ecosystem (C# in your case), you've gathered a lot of transferable knowledge. Sure, the tools, etc. might be a bit different but if you've been doing this for a while, you should be able to pick up new stuff relatively quickly by leaning on what you've done before.

A few things also came to mind:

1. These days, Java doesn't really mean just Java. Several other languages are available on the JVM. Scala, Kotlin, Groovy and Clojure are amongst those, so you have choice there too.