4 Replies - 2547 Views - Last Post: 09 July 2018 - 10:44 AM

#1 aspfun   User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 118
  • Joined: 16-January 13

An exception has been encountered. This may be caused by an extension.

Posted 09 July 2018 - 08:49 AM

In ASP.NET project (VS2017), I got an error:

An exception has been encountered. This may be caused by an extension.

I opened xml file as instructed but don't know how to fix it.

Please help.

C:\Users\XXXXXX\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\VisualStudio\15.0_71f4ff26\ActivityLog.xml
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: An exception has been encountered. This may be caused by an extension.

#2 modi123_1   User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 15262
  • View blog
  • Posts: 61,154
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: An exception has been encountered. This may be caused by an extension.

Posted 09 July 2018 - 08:59 AM

When does that exception happen?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 aspfun   User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 118
  • Joined: 16-January 13

Re: An exception has been encountered. This may be caused by an extension.

Posted 09 July 2018 - 09:20 AM

When hit F5 (run).
And, this error doesn't happen in vs2010.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 modi123_1   User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 15262
  • View blog
  • Posts: 61,154
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: An exception has been encountered. This may be caused by an extension.

Posted 09 July 2018 - 09:23 AM

Have you put breakpoints to see where?
Does the dump in the output window have more information?
Do you just need to reboot your system to clear out any local IIS?

As of right now you are not providing any information.. so, this becomes difficult.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 aspfun   User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 118
  • Joined: 16-January 13

Re: An exception has been encountered. This may be caused by an extension.

Posted 09 July 2018 - 10:44 AM

View Postmodi123_1, on 09 July 2018 - 09:23 AM, said:

Have you put breakpoints to see where?
Does the dump in the output window have more information?
Do you just need to reboot your system to clear out any local IIS?

As of right now you are not providing any information.. so, this becomes difficult.


I tried it. It works for me.

https://stackoverflo...nsion-in-visual
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1