5 Replies - 470 Views - Last Post: 06 August 2018 - 12:03 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Feeling stuck...

Posted 05 August 2018 - 06:44 PM

Hi guys

2nd post here! I'll use this as some sort of introduction..

I've been working as a Software Engineer since I graduated, around 4-5 years ago. And it was fun, and interesting.. at the beginning.
I mean, I really like coding and everything related. But I'm starting to thing that I need to change ASAP, otherwise I guess I'm gonna be trapped here forever.

During this time, I've been doing pretty much the same.. More maintenance/bugfixing than real development from scratch, always using the same two languages: Java and C++. Python sometimes but not that much. So I would say I'm confident with them right now. My actual problem is that when I look at job offers.. it's just crazy the amount of different frameworks and stuff you are expected to know for a non-beginner position. And in the job I have right now I'm just using pure C++ and Java + swing..

So, I've been involved in some processes since I started looking for a new position, and I feel like the recruiters always find the same issues. Like.. oh, you know, maintaining code is not the same than design and implementation (and they are right).. and you don't have real working experience with <random item of the java stack like Spring or hibernate>

So I really don't know how to overcome this. Any suggestion? I cannot give them the real working experience they are looking for, do I need to look for a junior position again? :sad2: I've been wasting my time?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Feeling stuck...

• Programming Theoretician
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Feeling stuck...

Posted 05 August 2018 - 07:31 PM