5 Replies - 237 Views - Last Post: 07 September 2018 - 11:34 AM

#1 mercy_angel   User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 429
  • Joined: 28-February 13

easiest way for failover

Posted 07 September 2018 - 10:53 AM

I wanted inside this little network to do it a failover, dual wan.
All private IPs are reachable and can ping each other.

I just wanna add some failover to some router to test it if it is working.
What is the best, and easiest for me to test it?
Which method? ospf? hsrp?

I need some help for this.

Attached image(s)

  • Attached Image

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: easiest way for failover

#2 no2pencil   User is online

  • Professor Snuggly Pants
  • member icon

Reputation: 6746
  • View blog
  • Posts: 31,222
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: easiest way for failover

Posted 07 September 2018 - 11:05 AM

What services are being failed over?
  • Internet
  • Intranet
  • DNS
  • DHCP


What exactly are you trying to accomplish?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 modi123_1   User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 14924
  • View blog
  • Posts: 59,580
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: easiest way for failover

Posted 07 September 2018 - 11:10 AM

How I do fail overs.



Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#4 mercy_angel   User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 429
  • Joined: 28-February 13

Re: easiest way for failover

Posted 07 September 2018 - 11:20 AM

View Postno2pencil, on 07 September 2018 - 06:05 PM, said:

What services are being failed over?
  • Internet
  • Intranet
  • DNS
  • DHCP


What exactly are you trying to accomplish?


I just want to ping a router and have a failover if one of the bond fails. No service.
I can add a some web server,but focus is on that router above two om the picture.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 no2pencil   User is online

  • Professor Snuggly Pants
  • member icon

Reputation: 6746
  • View blog
  • Posts: 31,222
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: easiest way for failover

Posted 07 September 2018 - 11:24 AM

Why ping? Just set them both up in parallel, & configure your equipment to use them both. When one isn't available, you can believe that the equipment will use only the one that is still online. That's how TTL works. "eh, your lag sucks, I'm switching to the other guy"
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 mercy_angel   User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 429
  • Joined: 28-February 13

Re: easiest way for failover

Posted 07 September 2018 - 11:34 AM

What if i use public ip instead of private? How do you think in parallel?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1