10 Replies - 428 Views - Last Post: 13 September 2018 - 07:04 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Want to build a simple automation platform

Posted 13 September 2018 - 03:21 AM

Hi All

I work in a cloud operations role and we do a lot of manual tasks. I would like to begin looking at how to stand up an automation platform.

Now for the fun part , i am a complete beginner to this kind of thing. I have written powercli scripts and have a basic understanding of other stuff but i am miles from being a developer. This is the kind of stuff i would like to try and accomplish :

1. Create automation server with a landing page with something like "welcome to cloud operations automation" and then present a login screen
2. I would then like to have buttons where users can do things like request disk space usage on vm's in a resource pool / check if snapshots are present and other data retrieval functions like that. I would then like the report to be created in html or something

for now , i just want to do data retrieval and i can move to more complex functions later.

Any idea how i even start this ? What languages to use ? How to structure the whole thing ?

I appreciate this is probably a silly question but its something i would like to try out...

Thanks for any help

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Want to build a simple automation platform

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: Want to build a simple automation platform

Posted 13 September 2018 - 03:38 AM

Just to note also that all VM's are windows based and based on a VMware platform (vCenter and vCloud Director)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 Skydiver   User is online

• Code herder
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 13 September 2018 - 04:35 AM

Why not just give your users access to vCenter and vCloud?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 13 September 2018 - 05:04 AM

View PostSkydiver, on 13 September 2018 - 04:35 AM, said: