5 Replies - 765 Views - Last Post: 04 October 2018 - 04:14 PM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Bluehost...and total beginner...

Posted 03 October 2018 - 06:49 PM

Hello. Just bought a year subscription to Bluehost, after doing much research and deciding it was the best option for me price wise.
I am trying to set up eclipse in a way where I can just upload my files directly to my bluehost shared server. I don't know what I'm even doing whatsoever.

Let me start here. I bought a domain. I guess I have to transfer it over or something? Does anyone know how to do that on bluehost?

I want to edit all my html files in eclipse and then test them before I upload them to the bluehost server.
All of the eclipse tutorials are telling me to just install tomcat.
I don't want to use my computer as a server because it's not a website for me. I'm
building it for a friend. I honestly don't even know much about hosting and thought I would just dive right in
But I'm really confused about how to set up eclipse to work with bluehost...
Any ideas? can eclipse only use tomcat?

Sorry to ramble on. I'm a little confused.

I think I need some direction here.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Bluehost...and total beginner...

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Bluehost...and total beginner...

Posted 03 October 2018 - 06:54 PM

I use xampp as a local host to develop, and then use filezilla to drop them on my hosting site.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 03 October 2018 - 07:17 PM

Awesome. Okay, I'll try to set up Xampp and then use FileZilla... I might need help with that. Also, thank you for your help with everything over the years. My school really sucks. I should have learned how to do this in web development or something...

I can't wait until I'm smart enough to help other people on here! :D