10 Replies - 562 Views - Last Post: 05 November 2018 - 02:05 PM

• The programming dinosaur
  • member icon

• View blog

Coming to the sudden realisation ...

Posted 31 October 2018 - 11:35 AM

... that I am surplus to requirements! Let me explain.

I started programming when I was 19 (1974) and rapidly became an exceptional programmer. I am not being big-headed ... this came from the manufacturers of the computer systems I worked on (ICL, Sperry Univac and even Microsoft). Classed as a highly skilled technical programmer, I could patch operating systems to do things that the manufacturers could not! I was head-hunted onto the continent to specifically overcome issues with communications between a mainframe and a minicomputer. Designed and wrote some of the most innovative and for the time, advanced systems that had ever been seen. I am fundamentally an assembly programmer. I could look at disassembles, and quickly find bugs, improve performance etc, etc.

Where am I now? Lost!!! I have suddenly realised that the skill set I have held so dear to me have little or no importance any more. It does not appeal to potential employers. It's like I blinked and found myself in an alien world.

I have no degree and my only saving grace as far as I can see lies in the fact that I could sell myself as a designer. I have had plenty of experience in drawing requirements and specifications from end users. Sounds like I need to rewrite my c.v.

Please don't feel sorry for me. I would however be grateful for comments and thoughts.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Coming to the sudden realisation ...

• Beginner
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Coming to the sudden realisation ...

Posted 31 October 2018 - 01:31 PM

Sounds like there's a lot of transferable skills there. You just need to figure out what direction your skill set needs to expand in.
Was This Post Helpful? 3
  • +
  • -

• Professor Snuggly Pants
  • member icon

• View blog