5 Replies - 379 Views - Last Post: 05 November 2018 - 10:46 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

studying for AP Computer Science Principles

Posted 04 November 2018 - 05:16 PM

I'm a private tutor and I have a couple high school students this year in AP Computer Science Principles. Their parents and I are concerned that their class isn't teaching things in a systematic or clean way, and they are totally confused. Can I get some advice about good online resources or books to help me to help them study?
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 1
  • +

Replies To: studying for AP Computer Science Principles

• Beginner
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: studying for AP Computer Science Principles

Posted 04 November 2018 - 06:57 PM

Can you be more concrete about the areas of concern? What are the specific topics that your students are having trouble with, and what sort of trouble are they having? If you can give an example of the sort of confusion you're seeing, that would be informative.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 04 November 2018 - 10:44 PM

View Postjon.kiparsky, on 04 November 2018 - 06:57 PM, said:

Can you be more concrete about the areas of concern? What are the specific topics that your students are having trouble with, and what sort of trouble are they having? If you can give an example of the sort of confusion you're seeing, that would be informative.

It's pretty much everything, so I'm looking for comprehensive study guides to AP Computer Science Principles (hereafter APCSP).

I can say a little about specifics. I believe there are three areas: (1) programming problems (the ability to read and understand an algorithm), (2) non-programming questions about databases, the internet, etc., and (3) a personal project.