[C++/Qt] Project Guidance

• (4 Pages)
  • +
  • Last »

47 Replies - 1903 Views - Last Post: 27 November 2018 - 09:59 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

[C++/Qt] Project Guidance

Posted 09 November 2018 - 12:18 PM

Hey Guys/Gals!

I'm new here, found this place by accident while Googling for some information. I'd like to state that the Project I'm working on is for my company I work for, it's not an assigned project nor am I getting paid for it. I came up with this project as a way to increase Contractor efficiency and add it to my resume. I'm fairly new to Qt/C++ but I've been messing around with it since 1998, when I got my first computer. It's been a, uh, bumpy ride, haha. No Lawsuits, Jail Time, or Handcuffs, so have faith in me :)

Since this project has proprietary information in it, and internal corporate info, I'll be as accurate but generic as possible. I need guidance on how to achieve what I want, and the best way to do it. What I don't want is the exact answer, or people to ask for code. Once I have it working, I'm going to gut a portion of it, and post it for public use. Part of the Licensing requirements for some of the executables I'm using.

So, let me explain the project.

I came up with the idea to use OCR (Optical Character Recognition) to scan the output on my screen, and convert it to text. Why? Because the tool I use (Laptop to Server KVM) doesn't allow for copy and pasting from the server to my laptop. It's crappy, and garbage but there's nothing I can do about it unless I'm converted to Full Time. I couldn't figure out how tesseract-ocr could view output from my application directly, so I came up with a scrolling screenshot, and then it'll decipher from the screenshot.