First real job after learning a programming language?

• (2 Pages)
  • +

23 Replies - 942 Views - Last Post: 19 November 2018 - 12:07 PM

#1 albert003   User is online

• D.I.C Addict

• View blog

First real job after learning a programming language?

Posted 16 November 2018 - 02:53 AM

I'm pretty comfortable in python and when I try to find a job they all require 3 to 5 years experience. I've read a bunch of articles saying to do work for free or near free for different places to get experience. My question is, to my self taught programming peers. How did you land your first job and if you didn't (work for free), what did you do to land your first paid regular job coding?.
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: First real job after learning a programming language?

• Senior Systems Engineer
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: First real job after learning a programming language?

Posted 16 November 2018 - 09:02 AM

I took a programming job for less than market rate just to get my foot in the door and get the title. After that, the next few jobs get easier and easier to obtain.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Lady A
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 16 November 2018 - 12:21 PM

View Postastonecipher, on 16 November 2018 - 10:02 AM, said:

I took a programming job for less than market rate just to get my foot in the door and get the title. After that, the next few jobs get easier and easier to obtain.

Similarly to this, my first job in the industry was essentially at a fraction of the cost of my competition. I worked it for a bit to get my feet wet and justify my title and then moved on to something else more reasonably paid.

Worst case you can always fudge the numbers a little and blame it on the recruiter when you get called out ;)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• #include "soul.h"
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 16 November 2018 - 12:26 PM