11 Replies - 645 Views - Last Post: 28 November 2018 - 12:20 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

My kid wants to program. HELP!

Posted 25 November 2018 - 11:18 PM

Hi, my son starts college next fall and has decided to take up Associate in computer sciences; programming in particular. I have very little knowledge in this area and need some help. My first question, should he go this route? I believe Networking or Cybersecurity is a better route but not sure where the computer industry is headed. He knows a little coding but I think he maybe getting in over his head. Second, What could he start doing now to prepare? I was going to buy him some programming books, any suggestions?

Now, what computer languages should he study? The obvious is C++, I also was thinking Java and maybe Mobile app. Below is what is being offered.

Programming Language Courses - Complete 20 Hours w/a minimum of 8 Hours in Tier II (20 Hours)

Programming Language Tier I - Choose Three of the Following (12 Hours)
CIST 2311 Visual Basic I
CIST 2341 C# Programming I
CIST 2371 Java Programming I
CIST 2351 PHP Programming I
CIST 2361 C++ Programming I
CIST 2381 Mobile Application Development
CIST 2580 Interactive and Social Applications Integration

Programming Language Tier II - Choose Two of the Following (8 Hours)
CIST 2312 Visual Basic II
CIST 2342 C# Programming II
CIST 2352 PHP Programming II
CIST 2362 C++ Programming II
CIST 2372 Java Programming II
CIST 2373 Java Programming III

Lastly, I want to purchase a Laptop as a graduation present. Anything special needed or can programming be done on any run of the mill Laptop.

Thank you all in advance.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: My kid wants to program. HELP!

• Games, Graphs, and Auctions
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: My kid wants to program. HELP!

Posted 26 November 2018 - 12:10 AM