0 Replies - 537 Views - Last Post: 29 November 2018 - 04:50 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Need help with Servlets and REST API

Posted 29 November 2018 - 04:49 PM

Hello guys,

I've came here in order to get some clear information or help regarding my project. First of all, I have basic Java and HTML knowledge, I'm studying Cyber Security(first years) so I'm not too familiar with web apps however these are the easier parts which I can figure out myself. I have no experience in JSON and Java Servlets.

For my project we need to work with a Raspberry Pi 3 which needs to be configured to work as a Wifi AP. I got that to work.

Next step is Installing Apache HTTP server on the RPi and putting my landing page in the /html file. So whenever I go to localhost on my Pi, it'll show the landing page, which works too.

3rd step(or maybe a step which I have to do after the servlet issue) is (for now) adjust the iptables so all traffic gets sent to the localhost. So whenever they go to google.com, it sends them to my localhost (landing page). I'll have to add iptables rules later with connection states, when user is verified etc.

Now comes the step which my study (in my opinion) doesn't explain that well and this is done on my mac, NOT on the raspberry pi.
I've downloaded and installed Tomcat 9(on my mac), which is up and running.
I've downloaded IntelliJ ultimate which supports Java servlets.

Now my "Landing Page" folder consist out of:

image1.png, image1.jpg, index.html, style.css. This is what I use for my landing page for now. It has a login form(the index.html) with ticketnumber and lastname and it doesn't check anything yet.

Now since I don't want people to make my homework, I'll just list some problems I really can't figure out myself. I've done some searching but I just need it explained in baby language tbh, lol.

Where do I actually program in? Do I work with JSON inside the Servlet.java file?