• (2 Pages)
  • +

16 Replies - 859 Views - Last Post: 06 December 2018 - 11:19 AM

• Code herder
  • member icon

• View blog

Bjarne responds to "How to teach C++"

Posted 02 December 2018 - 06:38 PM

It was interesting to see Bjarne Strustroup reply to this blog post: How to teach C++:

Bjarne Stroustrup, on NOVEMBER 28, 2018 AT 3:33 PM, said:

When teaching C++ (or anything else), you need to adapt to the background and need of your students.

I have two basic approaches:

For complete beginners, I use “Programming: Principles and Practice using C++”. It focuses on fundamental program development techniques. Like Marius Elvert, I start with call by value as the simplest and it is good enough initially. References and pointer come later (e.g., chapter 17 for pointers).

For people who are already programmers, I use “A Tour of C++” (2nd edition 240 pages). It is deliberately short, but covers a lot. I assume that its readers can use the Web to look for details (e.g., cppreference.com and the C++ Core Guidelines). Its readers get pointers and reference in Chapter 1.

I do not use “The C++ Programming Language” for teaching, only as backup material for more advanced students.

In both cases, I try hard not to get sucked into technical subtleties. In both cases, I use simple data structures (e.g., std::string and std::vector) from the very beginning. Neither group needs to know everything about anything in C++, at least not during a first course.

My key takeaway though, I've highlighted in bold below:

Bjarne Stroustrup, on NOVEMBER 28, 2018 AT 3:33 PM, said:

PPP is roughly C++14 and Tour2 is C++17 plus a bit from C++20. I use newer features to simplify code examples and explanations, never just to impress. As long as you don’t try to explain everything, “modern C++” can be much simpler than older C++.