10 Replies - 413 Views - Last Post: 28 February 2019 - 10:32 AM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

My very first BIG Database design presentation.

Posted 17 January 2019 - 06:24 PM

I'm currently doing RPA development with a big company, automating things. I did show some interest in web design by asking my developer lead how to set up a local server... I had some projects in school, web programming, but it wasn't the greatest class, and I didn't retain everything! I don't have a photographic memory and I have to look these things up. Anyways... So I was like, "Yeah I'm going to build a website for my friend who is a massage therapist, just to start building something so I don't forget what I've learned so far."

I mean It's pretty obvious from that statement, and asking my boss how to set up a local server on my computer...that I'm no expert. I'm sure he knows, but last week they asked me if I want to develop a web app for the company. I said "Hells yeah!"...In a very professional way...The more we've gotten into it the more I start having trouble sleeping at night.

So what I've found out is that this is going to be used by some vice president of the company so that they can track software development in the company. So it's like a library of all of the development going on. I'm asking my software Lead for more help, and he seems to have it in his mind, that this is a creative endeavor... He said, he's very detail oriented but I don't have to be, and I don't have to listen to anything he's saying, but what he would put in the DB is this table and that table...As he's telling me this, I'm adding the tables, and doing pretty much everything he's saying, But then he keeps repeating, "Again, you don't have to do what I'm saying..."