4 Replies - 344 Views - Last Post: 29 January 2019 - 08:43 AM Rate Topic: -----

#1 Daniel9963   User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 25-March 18

Simple machine modification

Posted 27 January 2019 - 02:06 PM

I'm learning assembly lately, got a simple machine and I'm learning the basics with it.

After a few weeks I've started wanting to optimize and add new instructions apart of the basic, ADD CMP MOV BEQ and wanna add the new optimized functions to the control unit but I'm unsure of how to do it, I've done the tables of what happens with every part of the instructions but not sure how to implement it.

Here is my control unit:

Attached Image

And the instructions table I made:

Attached Image

I did an optimized one and not sure how to implement it correctly in the RAM from the control unit.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Simple machine modification

#2 modi123_1   User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 15160
  • View blog
  • Posts: 60,694
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Simple machine modification

Posted 27 January 2019 - 02:21 PM

are you asking how to get microcode into a control unit? What's the make and model?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 Daniel9963   User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 25-March 18

Re: Simple machine modification

Posted 27 January 2019 - 02:34 PM

View Postmodi123_1, on 27 January 2019 - 02:21 PM, said:

are you asking how to get microcode into a control unit? What's the make and model?


Exactly that, I have made tables of what to do and how to act on the "optimized instructions" but I'm not sure how to implement it into the control unit. About the model, I got the main machine from one of my teachers that offer it to me so I can't really give much information about it sadly. Here is the machine entirely in case it gives any information:

Attached Image
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 Daniel9963   User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 25-March 18

Re: Simple machine modification

Posted 29 January 2019 - 08:41 AM

Hi, I'm working with a virtual simple machine and I would like to know how I could get microcode into it. The control unit I'm working with is:

Attached Image

How could I add the instructions microcode to it?

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 modi123_1   User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 15160
  • View blog
  • Posts: 60,694
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Simple machine modification

Posted 29 January 2019 - 08:43 AM

Please do not open duplicate topics.

Merging.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1