• (2 Pages)
  • +

15 Replies - 917 Views - Last Post: 02 February 2019 - 10:24 AM

• Code herder
  • member icon

• View blog

Java 11 license

Posted 29 January 2019 - 04:40 PM

I'm not a lawyer. So I'm completely confused by this text in the Java 11 SE license:

License Rights and Restrictions
Oracle grants You a nonexclusive, nontransferable, limited license to internally use the Programs, subject to the restrictions stated in this Agreement and Program Documentation, only for the purpose of developing, testing, prototyping and demonstrating Your Application and not for any other purpose. ...

Further, You may not:
- use the Programs for any data processing or any commercial, production, or internal business purposes other than developing, testing, prototyping, and demonstrating your Application;

So what am I supposed to do when my code is ready to go to production?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Java 11 license

• Code herder
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Java 11 license

Posted 29 January 2019 - 04:48 PM

NVM. I think I figured it out.

I should be using the OpenJDK version rather than the non-open JDK version.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 xclite   User is online

• I wrote you an code
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 30 January 2019 - 09:03 AM

Yup, thankfully the answer is "just don't use the Oracle JDK."
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• #include "soul.h"
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 30 January 2019 - 09:18 AM

Got to love Oracle's greed. They also try to charge $200k+ for a commercial license... and apparently there are people that pay it...
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 xclite   User is online

• I wrote you an code
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 30 January 2019 - 09:38 AM