2 Replies - 1194 Views - Last Post: 23 March 2019 - 08:09 PM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

[Beginner] ways to link 'data' from different objects/classes

Posted 23 March 2019 - 09:32 AM

I wasn't really sure how to title this... But I've dabbled in coding and posted here before a few times. I'm not very good at programming, but I understand a lot of the basics of programming.

So - I'm fiddling a bit with Swift and with Python right now - and I sort of have two ideas of something I want to work on, and I wanted to ask a question about practices surrounding linking 'data' between object. I wish I could word that better - but I can't, so I'm going to have to give examples instead.

Now there are projects that are personal and just for fun, to get a little more into programming. I'm not looking to release anything or make some remotely professional.

One of my ideas is a little Board Game tracker - I'll have board games and users. The board games will have information like the name, min player count, max player count, release year, etc. The users class will just hold the user's name and then all their ratings for each game that they've rating.

I'm doing this in Python right now - which isn't exactly relevant since I'm not asking for code, but how to structure things, but I wanted to share.

I know how to make the classes and all that - my question comes from how to structure everything in a way that's clean and efficient when it comes to linking the ratings together.

I'll want to print out a game with an average rating based on the user ratings when I'm showing a game list. Or I'll want to show a print out of just that user's score for each game.

Do I create some class that goes inside the user class that is linked somehow to a specific board game, and holds an integer rating? Do I put something in the board game class that links to user object and then holds a rating? Do I have an entirely different class on its own that just holds ratings all on its own?