4 Replies - 276 Views - Last Post: 02 April 2019 - 02:02 PM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Programming different possible actions based on object?

Posted 31 March 2019 - 05:16 PM

Not sure how to better title that... But I'm fiddling around with C#, trying to get better.

I want to ask a question based on a specific scenario I'm facing, but I want to explain that I'm a novice when it comes to programming (I fiddle with it as a hobby back and forth) so anything that's advanced, I probably wont get. So instead of trying to help with something too complicated that I just will glaze over on, I'd say to just tell me to do what I'm doing. Just to save you the trouble of trying to give an example that I'm just not going to get.

So - I'm fiddling with the idea of a roguelike sort of thing; text based... Now Rooms are for the most part rooms - but some will have special things you can do while in them. So let's say maybe in one room you can Sleep(), in another you can Pray(), in another you might Dig()... Whatever.

The way I'm tackling that right now is by having interfaces and inheriting from a basic Room class. So I would have something like
Class SleepRoom: Room, ISleep

or
Class PrayerRoom: Room, IPray

So then I can have all my rooms in some sort of list, connect them together, etc, etc. And when a player types in "Sleep" I would simply take the current room and do:
if (currentRoom is ISleep sleepRoom)
     sleepRoom.Sleep();

The idea being that I'm just taking what is typed - trying to convert that room into the type of room that that action can be done in, and calling that method if it can be.

I'm wondering if there's another way to approach this that I don't know of yet and if it would be in my realm of understanding. I feel like I'm sort of brute forcing the logic here and that there must be some better, intended way of doing something like this.