3 Replies - 270 Views - Last Post: 22 April 2019 - 05:00 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

How would a Jr. Dev go about creating a intranet/sharepoint site?

Posted 21 April 2019 - 07:55 PM

Hello,

I am a junior Web Developer, who knows how to create basic Web sites, very simple applications, forms, databases and a bit more, and I was wondering what would be the best approach on creating an intranet/sharepoint site for a company of around 130 employees? They would also like for me to convert their PowerPoint slides into video training modules.

I am not looking for someone to do my work, but I was wondering if anyone had advice or links for research? There is already a server with lots of space, MS Access for the DB, just needs the site that under 150 users can use, with basic intranet/sharepoint sections (departments, news, log in, contacts, projects, knowledge/documents, etc.) as well as a section for training modules. The most complex section would be the training modules; I should be able to code the site mostly, but I am not experienced in creating portals, and my authentication experience is still fairly new.

I have the data to go into the videos based on powerpoint slides, but need to get it into the right format, track WHO finished the videos, upcoming training and more. Just basically needs to verify that the user finished the work. I am open to paying a fee for templates or software to integrate into the site, and ideally expanding open-source projects. Any tips would be appreciated. I read that Joomla might do the job, but heard it is a bit limited. I also looked into MS Sharepoint, but it seems like you need to add lots of unnecessary stuff that the company already has, like a server and database. I am also looking to code quite a bit myself, if possible.